Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Welcome to the Hall of Fame Andre Dawson Class of 2010

The results are in and Andre Dawson is finally in. Congratulations to new Hall of Famer Andre Dawson who will be inducted along with manager Whitey Herzog and umpire Doug Harvey, who were elected last month by the Veterans Committee. The induction ceremony will also include the presentation of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for baseball writing to Bill Madden of the New York Daily News. Photo Credit: Jan. 6, 2010 (from National Baseball Hall of Fame website)

So, in the last post I made my predictions on who would get elected and I got one out of the three correct. I picked Dawson who received 420 votes for 77.9%. Roberto Alomar missed getting in by 8 votes garnering 397 votes for 73.3% and Barry Larkin received only 278 votes good for 51.6%. I also gave an honorable mention to Edgar Martinez who received 195 votes good 36.2%. Bert Blyleven also received his fair share of votes, barely getting elected to the Hall of Fame by only 5 votes. He received 400 votes for 74.2%. The other first-year candidate who received sufficient support to remain on the ballot was first baseman Fred McGriff with 116 votes for 21.5%. Other holdovers who will remain on the ballot are pitchers Jack Morris and Lee Smith, first basemen Don Mattingly and Mark McGwire, shortstop Alan Trammell, outfielder-DH Harold Baines and outfielders Tim Raines, Dave Parker and Dale Murphy.

No longer eligible to be elected by the writers (since they did not receive the minimum 5% of the vote) are Andres Galarraga (A personal favorite of mine), Robin Ventura, Ellis Burks, Eric Karros, Kevin Appier, Pat Hentgen, David Segui, Mike Jackson, Ray Lankford, Shane Reynolds and Todd Zeile.

Here are the results for this years election:
Andre Dawson 420 (77.9%)(2009 vote 67%)
Bert Blyleven 400 (74.2%)(2009 vote 62.7%)
Roberto Alomar 397 (73.7%)
Jack Morris 282 (52.3%)(2009 vote 44%)
Barry Larkin 278 (51.6%)
Lee Smith 255 (47.3%)(2009 vote 44.5%)
Edgar Martinez 195 (36.2%)
Tim Raines 164 (30.4%)(2009 vote 22.6%)
Mark McGwire 128 (23.7%)(2009 vote 21.9%)
Alan Trammell 121 (22.4%)(2009 vote 17.9%)
Fred McGriff 116 (21.5%)
Don Mattingly 87 (16.1%)(2009 vote 11.9%)
Dave Parker 82 (15.2%)(2009 vote 15%)
Dale Murphy 63 (11.7%)(2009 vote 11.5%)
Harold Baines 33 (6.1%)(2009 vote 5.9%)
Andres Galarraga 22 (4.1%)
Robin Ventura 7 (1.3%)
Ellis Burks 2 (0.4%)
Eric Karros 2 (0.4%)
Kevin Appier 1 (0.2%)
Pat Hentgen 1 (0.2%)
David Segui 1 (0.2%)
Mike Jackson 0
Ray Lankford 0
Shane Reynolds 0
Todd Zeile 0

Here is the official press release by the Baseball Hall of Fame on today's vote.

With the close vote by Blyleven and Alomar, I assume that they will get in on next year's ballot. Just to get a sneak peek on who is eligible for 1st time election here is the list:

Jeff Bagwell, Rafael Palmeiro, John Olerud, Kevin Brown, Larry Walker, Juan Gonzalez, Tino Martinez, B.J. Surhoff, Marquis Grissom, John Franco, Bret Boone, Al Leiter, Benito Santiago, Carlos Baerga, Raul Mondesi, Bobby Higginson, Wilson Alvarez, Rey Sanchez, Charles Johnson, Jose Offerman, Ugueth Urbina, Ismael Valdez, Dan Wilson, Paul Quantrill, Cal Eldred, Kirk Rueter, Steve Reed

Out of next year's list, I can see Jeff Bagwell as being the only candidate for 1st year election to the Hall. Rafael Palmiero will be interesting to see, since he is the 1st player to be of Hall of Fame caliber (1 of 4 players to get over 3000 hits and over 500HR along with Mays, Aaron and Murray) who tested positively for performance enhancing drugs. John Olerud and Larry Walker are also interesting candidates.

Once again, congratulations to Andre Dawson for his election to the Hall of Fame, Class of 2010.


No comments:

Post a Comment