Thursday, November 11, 2010

2010 American and National League Gold Glove Winners

The awards season is upon us in Major League Baseball and first is the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. This year marks the 53rd anniversary of the award being given to the best defensive players at each position. Voting for the Gold Glove Awards is done by managers and coaches from all 30 teams who submitted their votes by the end of the regular season. Votes are cast for the best defensive player at each position in each league, except in the outfield, where the top three defensive players are selected regardless of position. Managers and coaches can only vote for players in their own league and can't vote for their own players.

Without going into the controversy of Derek Jeter winning his 5th Gold Glove, here is the list of the 2010 American and National League Gold Glove Award winners (parenthesis denotes times won):

American League
Mark Teixiera 1B (4)
Robinson Cáno 2B (1)
Evan Longoria 3B (2) 
Derek Jeter SS (5)
Joe Mauer C (3)
Carl Crawford OF (1)
Franklin Gutiérrez OF (1)
Ichiro Suzuki OF (10)
Mark Buherle P (2)

National League
Yadier Molina C (3)
Albert Pujols 1B (2)
Brandon Phillips 2B (2)
Scott Rolen 3B (8)
Troy Tulowitzki SS (1)
Carlos Gonzalez OF (1)
Shane Victorino OF (3)
Michael Bourne OF (2)
Bronson Arroyo P (1)

Interesting Info
Scott Rolen has won the award with 3  different teams (Philadelphia, St. Louis, Cincinnati). Ichiro has won the award in every year he's been in the majors (10). I guess I'll mention Jeter after all, with his winning the award at the age of 36, he becomes the oldest Shortstop to win a Gold Glove since Luis Aparicio did it in 1970. For those of you who haven't a clue of the Jeter Gold Glove controversy, just do an online search for Jeter, Gold Glove and Metrics and see what comes up. I think you'll find what I mean in no time.


For Further Reading:
- Click Here for the Official Rawlings Gold Glove webpage for more information on the award

No comments:

Post a Comment